The find that got me hooked!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The find that got me hooked!

Hi all, I thought I would share this beauty that really started my passion for stone tools. I found this about ten years ago in North Kingstown, RI on the Narraganset Bay shoreline. I'm no typology expert but I believe this is a Bare Island? Hope you all enjoy looking at this as much as I do! Happy Hunting!Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	103
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	247517

Beauty isn't it? You come across something like that, pick it up and just marvel at all the who, what, how and whys.
    Searching the fields of NW Indiana and SW Michigan

Comment

That is a nice one man...that area is a long way from my realm here In Illinois so I am not gonna try but we have some folks from that area that can probably nail it down...
      The chase is better than the catch...
      I'm Frank and I'm from the flatlands of N'Eastern Illinois...

Comment

Wow, that is a nice one.
        http://joshinmo.weebly.com

Comment

How big is it? Not sure of type. Could be Bare Island, but they are almost indistinguishable from Merrimack points, and I'm not sure how to tell them apart to be honest. And both have mostly square stems, but the New England guide I rely on does show a couple of Bare Islands with expanding stems. What's really curious to me besides how big it is is the material. I don't think I've ever seen it in 60 years hunting RI, and I have never seen any of our local/regional materials weather like that with those cracks or striations. That is a very unusual lithic whatever it is.....