MOTM for July 2018 fldwlkr

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MOTM for July 2018 fldwlkr

Click image for larger version  Name:	556856D4-B58C-4FBE-8C49-6940D3A125BE.jpeg Views:	1 Size:	97.6 KB ID:	306087 I’m glad we have a special member to honor this month. It’s a special month when we celebrate our Independence , and enjoy some summer weather. Please show your appreciation to Tim, also known as Fldwlkr. We are glad you are here.

I grew up in small town Ohio where kids rode bikes, ran the woods, and swam in the creeks until the sun set. We baled hay and picked sweet corn for the local farmers as a way to make a little gas money. Looking back on those times, I feel sorry for many of today’s children who do not get to experience such free spirited wandering.

I was the first of my family to attend college and much to my father’s bewilderment, I majored in Art. He did not see a future in it but it was the only card I had to play as a skill set. I was lucky enough to find my wife of 34 years there and it has been an adventure going through life with her.

We raised a daughter, taught school for 30 years, and built a nice home in the country. We recently retired from education and I am pursuing my studio work with renewed energy. My work reflects the Ohio and Kentucky landscape that I have grown to know so well. A walk may not turn up an artifact but it always gets me outside and into the fields and backwoods I find so comforting. I am truly blessed to live in such a beautiful place with a loving partner.