Question Only

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question Only

I have what is most likely not my first find in "what did I find" but as a beginner I had a thought of a question that came upon me about another piece I have yet to photograph. Is there such a point that was used like say a bayonet? I mean in shape only. Like looking straight down with the point facing you as if it were projected towards you it would look like a triangle. Sort of a 3 sided pyramid with a base. I need a camera and time to take the picture. I was told bayonets of certain era had this shape as it would keep the wound from healing. It might be a good tool for a hunter of bigger game as well I was thinking. I would think that design might be ancient. My gut tells me so!

I have never heard of an ancient NA bayonet. I know of the triangular shape you mention and that was common with steel types that were fixed to a musket. Without a picture it is really just a guess based upon your description. I'll guess its a piece that is an unfinished product which are found a lot. Post up some pics and we can figure it out...
    The chase is better than the catch...
    I'm Frank and I'm from the flatlands of N'Eastern Illinois...

Comment

• FlashCache
      FlashCache commented
      Editing a comment
      It's cloudy here right now (77080) Houston. But I am going to try to get some pics Thanks!!!! there are 3 more i posted but I need some in natural light.

I'm no expert, but I would imagine some points come out triangular like a bayonet by chance. I have one fitting that description, but it's not typical of the type and you can tell the knapper was struggling with a large stack running the length of the point. So if you look at it head on, it's essentially a triangle. Not sure about points from other areas.

Comment