Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is this please? Has it been worked?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is this please? Has it been worked?

I saw this lying on the surface of a field in Monkton Deverill yesterday whilst out metal detecting. It looks like it may have been worked, but the field is littered with stones and I'm guessing that although the odds are slim, the occasional stone must get shaped by the plough and frost etc over the millennia.
    I'd love to think it has been shaped by human hands....

Welcome to the site. That is definitely worked by human hands, congrats!
    Searching the fields of NW Indiana and SW Michigan

Comment

Welcome from Florida...I’m not an expert on English flaked tools ( which it is, and a nice one at that ) but I know from finding North American ones, that’s what you have...I just don’t know if it’s an Axe, Celt, Hoe or ( Adz which I think it is ) )...it’s definitely a finished piece as evidenced by the re sharpening on the business end, ... Painshill will know what kind of beautiful flint it’s made from, and more details about the piece, and hopefully reply,
      Floridaboy.

Comment

that's a great artifact! was it found in a plowed field? We don't have those kind of rusty stains on things in FL but I see it on many pieces that have been scraped by the plow over the years.
        Professor Shellman
        Tampa Bay

Comment

Very nice ancient artifact and a beautiful lithic material.
          Michigan Yooper
          If You Don’t Stand for Something, You’ll Fall for Anything

Comment

Go back with detector , leave it at field edge and look for more shaped stones !
            Lubbock County Tx

Comment

• Lindenmeier-Man
              Lindenmeier-Man commented
              Editing a comment
              Never sure of how that all worked out, so I suppose the same with all artifacts, stone or AU ? Interesting !

• Lindenmeier-Man
              Lindenmeier-Man commented