UNFLUTED CLOVIS ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UNFLUTED CLOVIS ?

Hello guys , I am a new member and I am still learning about this hobby .This one has me stumped Is it a knife or unfluted clovis . I have not been able to find it in any of my books . I have put it in this riker mount to show the size comparison to the other paleo points . I am pretty sure it is from Ohio . Any help is very appreciated .

sure is pretty, i'd like to see all of them a little better hope someone has a guess, thanks for sharing,,ts

Comment

Is that one top left a personal find? Not sure about your knife we need better pictures 
      Thanks for posting
      TN formerly CT Visit our store http://stores.arrowheads.com/store.p...m-Trading-Post

Comment

The top left one looks modern. Did you find it or buy it. The one in the center is not a Clovis based on what I can see. Is the basal are ground?

Comment

the top left clovis is not a repo , i can post pics of all later , thanks for the reponse guys

Comment

the material of the center piece does not look like any common variety that is seen in ohio , but then again ohio does have a variety of colors. the piece looks crude in the picture, may be un finished and does have a paleo appearance.  jim

Comment

I was looking through my Overstreet book - looks like an Angostura-EAST. A  medium to large lancelot
              blade with a contracting/concave base. Bases are not usually ground but are thinned - Transitional Paleo to mid-Archaic, 1,000 to 8,000 B.P.  Looks to me to be some large grained quartzite, and the pink color may indicate being heat treated.
              If the women don\'t find you handsome, they should at least find you handy.

Comment