Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Large Knife?

Hi!
    I am new to this so please bear with me..
    In October my wife and I were at South Padre Island in Texas for a vacation. We were going for a walk on the beach at the North side of the Island and I looked down in about 6 inches of water. I first thought I was looking at a piece of glass, as just the edge was showing. Thinking there was a good chance someone might step on it I picked it up and what I picked up is in the picture. I think it must have been exposed in the sand for just a few minutes and it would have been buried again in the tide within a few more waves..

A real beauty fer-shur.
    This type of blade/knife is in a transitional state as far as a name goes.
    I believe they were called "Covington" not sure just what the "experts" decided to call them now.
    Really nice lithics, color is very desireable.
    I pick up glass too, if we all keep our beaches clean it would give us all peace of mind.
    Lots of points have come off the coast over the years. There's more out there.
    Congrats on your accidental find and bringing it here for us to see. 
    Jess B.
    It is a "Rock" when it's on the ground.
    It is a "Specimen" when picked up and taken home.

​Jessy B.
    Circa:1982

Comment

Thanks for the info Jess...I'm not an avid collector, I did buy a book about Indian artifacts in Texas to try and educate myself a little bit, but all I got was confused! I just look at the thing and wonder how old it is...try to imagine the person making it. My first reaction was just wow!..look what I found!..Then all these questions start coming to mind..

Comment

That is a very fine artifact you have there. Congrats on your first find. Oh, welcome to the forum.
        Like a drifter I was born to walk alone

Comment

La la la, just walking down the beach, oh what's this?
          Holy smokes! and it's your first?
          Nice! You got to love dumb luck.
          And welcome!