My First Meg!!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My First Meg!!!!!

I recently took a trip to Brownies beach at the Calvert Cliffs Maryland where I found 130 sharks teeth today one of which I believe to be a juvenile, posterior megalodon tooth. It is, I'm sure, as small as they come. Have any of you found any tiny megs?
    If both artifact and hunter lie idle, they will not meet.

Also, sorry I haven't been on in a while, I have just settled into college!

Comment

• 2ndoldman
      2ndoldman commented
      Editing a comment
      Good for you. What are you studying?

• eannis6
      eannis6 commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks Bruce! I'm studying criminal justice!

That's really tiny. Could it be a microdon?😇

Just kidding...how do you know it's a megaladon vs. regular shark? I'm asking because I have no idea....I just always assumed megaldon meant the teeth would be yuge!
    Wandering wherever I can, mostly in Eastern Arkansas, always looking down.

Comment

• eannis6
      eannis6 commented
      Editing a comment
      Hahaha! That's funny! I assumed the same thing! However, the shape of the tooth lends itself to megalodon. It certainly is a micromegalodon

• eannis6
      eannis6 commented
      Editing a comment
      Jethro, it's officially a meg! I had a Calvert county fossil museum worker confirm it!

That's a great answer. See, you've taught me something today, so going back to college was a worthy venture after all!!
    Wandering wherever I can, mostly in Eastern Arkansas, always looking down.

Comment

nice find

but im not sure thats a meg tooth,but i am no expert on such matters

i do have a juvenile meg tooth,its about 2 1/2 inches long.just a small one as some can be 5 times that size

no matter what it is,its still a nice find
      i love sharks teeth

Comment

• eannis6
        eannis6 commented
        Editing a comment