New Guy looks for Arrowheads, finds Fossil Rocks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy looks for Arrowheads, finds Fossil Rocks

Title says it all. Complete novice but saw these in my tilled up field and they were clearly not normal rocks.

By the way, there's a lot of the white kind (this is the only one of the red I found though). If anyone wants some of these, I'd be happy to ship them to you.

Click image for larger version

Name:	RedFossilRock.jpg
Views:	232
Size:	266.3 KB
ID:	620566

Name:	WhiteFossilRock.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	300.1 KB
ID:	620567

Welcome to our site KY. Looks like some coral fossils to me. Others will be by to better ID them for you. Kim from Pa.
    Knowledge is about how and where to find more Knowledge. Snyder County Pa.

Comment

very nice fossils I think it looks like corals too. Welcome to arrowheads.com
      TN formerly CT Visit our store http://stores.arrowheads.com/store.p...m-Trading-Post

Comment

The first one is really cool, the second one looks like a pile of bones. I am not an expert.

Comment

Welcome from west central Florida...I’ll be honest..It doesn’t look like any coral I’ve ever seen but I’m always up for learning something new.It very cool.

are you finding it in Kentucky?
          Floridaboy.

Comment

Originally posted by Hal Gorges View Post
            Welcome from west central Florida...I’ll be honest.. It doesn’t look like any coral I’ve ever seen but I’m always up for learning something new. It very cool.

are you finding it in Kentucky?
            Hi there, yes this was in the middle of KY near Lexington. The reason I thought it was coral is I've kept a lot of saltwater fish tanks in my life and this looks very much like the porous skeleton of a hard-coral "frag" you'd buy in a reef store. The whole rock is filled with appear to me to be fossilized tubes.