Opinions on my first purchased piece

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on my first purchased piece

This is the first artifact I have ever bought. I think it's 100% authentic and feel like I got a good deal. I was wondering what other people who have more knowledge about pottery might think. It seems like it would be very difficult to fake. The seller says it's anasazi and came from the Utah/Arizona border.

I'm not an expert, but this is the best website on the net that describes all types of prehistoric and historic SW pottery. Your piece, esp, visible in the last photo, looks like corrugated red ware, weathered to some degree. It might be an example of Salado Red:

http://rarepotteryinfo.siteprotect.n.../saladored.htm

Even though the home region of Salado Red is not the Utah/Az border, all SW wares were traded throughout the region.

Last edited by CMD; 12-13-2019, 09:30 AM.
    Rhode Island

Comment

Nice size pot, easy to display or carry to shows if you like
      South East Ga. Twin City

Comment

I’d rather think it’s closer to Mimbres pottery. Red on brown with black interior. It looks right but I’m not a authenticator !
        Lubbock County Tx

Comment

It is a nice piece. I cant say anything on authentication as far as age but it doesn't seem to be a modern made piece. It looks old for sure. Looking fwd to finding the answer on it. I really like it.
          The chase is better than the catch...
          I'm Frank and I'm from the flatlands of N'Eastern Illinois...

Comment

How wonderful it’s intact!
            Digging in GA, ‘bout a mile from the Savannah River

Comment

Calling Jethro

Comment