Goin with carved petrified wood?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Goin with carved petrified wood?

I continue to find pieces that literally look like animals to me. I don't know what it is, but I can't stop it. I look at it and there it is! Sorry if it makes anybody uncomfortable. I found this piece today and I believe it is petrified wood. Can anybody verify this for me? Thank ya'.
    Oh yeah.  Lookin like a Raven to me.

Doesn't anybody see it? Does it look like petrified wood? How long does it take for wood to petrify?  Is it old?  Native American or otherwise?  "I'm at a total loss."

Comment

I see the birds head..even an eye! Not to sure its petrified wood though? Mark.

Comment

It looks to me like a natural mineral deposit to me. Maybe some iron mixed in it.  But I'm no expert.

Comment

turkeytail wrote:

I see the birds head..even an eye! Not to sure its petrified wood though? Mark.
            Mark, you made my day! :woohoo:   I seriously have to thank you for your comment.  THANK YOU!!!
          Pam

Comment

Dirty_Digger wrote:

It looks to me like a natural mineral deposit to me. Maybe some iron mixed in it.  But I'm no expert.
              Pretty, pretty, sure that it's petrified wood.  Here's a pic of the other side.  What ya' think?

Comment

Bluejay, yep
              Searching the fields of NW Indiana and SW Michigan

Comment

Remember them whistles shaped like birds that you filled with water.  They kind of made a chirping sound!  That was my first thought!..Daniel

Comment

Hi Pam. Nice birdie. You been diggin' up that yard again?