Just started....what did I find?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just started....what did I find?

Think I found something. It looks like a small bowl or something...what do you all think? :laugh:

Hello Adriel, hope you had a nice holiday. I am not an expert but I think you just have a geofact. A rock shaped by common erosion by Mother Nature. Sorry to say, but don't think that is an artifact at all. Wish I could tell you different.

Comment

Hi Adriel, what you have is probably a geofact. Keep on looking for soon if you hit the right place at the right time you find an artifact.

Comment

Looks like a piece of sandstone that has weathered out to that shape. They will be found in all kinds of shapes and sizes in areas with sandstone, and are often mistaken for artifacts.

Comment

Oh well.     Back to the field.
          Thanks everybody!
          I am wondering, are there certain rock types I can automatically rule out?
          I am curious about limestone and sandstone.

Comment

There are a variety of artifacts made of sandstone. Limestone I don't know - I'm sure the ancients used everything that was available to them. Maybe someone else can speak of limestone artifacts???

Comment

Adriel the best advise I can give you is study photos of other authentic artifacts. The ancients by area seem to be pretty consistent in design or at least close in what they used made from hardstone. Though there will be differences somewhat there should be similarities. My own story starting out, I live in Ohio and hunted arrowheads. Occasionally I would pick up what I thought was a weird rock and cast it aside. Eventually I purchased a book of Ohio artifacts and found that I was leaving good stuff behind!!! A painful experience to say the least. Hope this helps you in your quest and saves you the pain I experienced. Good Luck Bill

Comment

Thanks for all the info