Discoidal!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Discoidal!!

I have to say that it's great to be in a world where others share a common connection and via this digital forum can express (through words and pics) that commonality. As a high school teacher, I could safely say most students' knowledge of Native Americans is wrapped up in a 90 min block over a semester long course. I am not a history teacher, but with my coffee cup full and a weekend story to share and points to show, I give them a few minutes more! Today, I found a first. I have found rhyolite and pottery here before, but never ever ever a clay discoidal/gaming piece. It's too apparent with the size, grounding, and proximity. It seems to be missing a small section, but not sure. We found a lot of sherds, and I included the one point (thinking Yadkin triangle) found not too far away.
    The really great thing about today's finds was that my good friend, Utilized flake, was with me! And to have a connection with all you guys is AWESOME, but having a member just 2 miles down the road is SUPER! Enjoy. Chris
    North Carolina

Looks like a little cookie. Time for midnite snack! What a wonderful way to have your appetite stimulated.... thank you! I’ve not seen one of these before, except in my books.
    Digging in GA, ‘bout a mile from the Savannah River

Comment

Looks great to me! It almost looks like the bottom to a vessel of some sort.
      "The education of a man is never completed until he dies." Robert E. Lee

Comment

Its not a discoidal. It appears to be the bottom of a pot. But the edges are usually ragged, and not smooth. I think its a lid to a small pot. Nice artifact.

Comment

Hey ...good day..real nice ppottery sherds ..
          ​​​​​​
          SW Connecticut

Comment

Nice finds Carolina Hunter! Some big ol pottery chunks.
            N.C. from the mountains to the sea

Comment