Newbie here and I’m looking for advice/opinions, please 😁

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here and I’m looking for advice/opinions, please 😁

Hello, all! I’m a newbie to not only this forum but to artifact hunting and collecting as well! Anyways, while on vacation on silver lake in Traverse City, Michigan, I found these two rocks that may or may not be β€œsomething”. One is almost a perfect circle and appears to be made of sandstone or some other type of gritty material. And the larger one is triangular in shape and has what looks to me as a thumb hole or something else that was worn into it. I found both in shallow water in Silver lake.I put a dime in the photo for scale. I realize that when you’re new to collecting that everything looks like β€œsomething”, lol. Thanks for any responses and I’m excited to be here and seeing/posting some more cool stuff!!!

Hi! Welcome to the forum! The first thing that I have noticed, is that you found these by a lake. (?) They are probably nothing, although the top rock looks a wee bit suspicious. They were probably worn down by he water.
    "The education of a man is never completed until he dies." Robert E. Lee

Comment

That is one round rock. but both are natural not modified by man. I pick them as well. Nature has a way of forming neat stones.
      Look to the ground for it holds the past!

Comment

MG2,welcome to the forum

i agree that those are just natural unaltered by man rocks

everyone when they are knew to the hobby finds items they think are artifacts,but more times than not they are just natural

i would have picked up that round one as well,if it is sand stone it would make for a nice small soft hammer stone to be used in flint knapping or as an abrading stone.as knapper i am always on the look out for such items to add to my ABO knapping kit.

keep looking,you will find some artifacts eventually

Comment