First find, not sure what I have

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First find, not sure what I have

Hi, total newbie here. I dug this up while gardening today in Monroe, CT. Any leads? My gut says it’s in too good condition to be a “real” arrowhead but wanted some experienced eyes on it. Thank you!

It's real alrighty. CT collectors will chime in.
    Professor Shellman
    Tampa Bay

Comment

Looks like an Adena point to me nice find . Welcome to arrowheads.com I grew up in Shelton.
      TN formerly CT Visit our store http://stores.arrowheads.com/store.p...m-Trading-Post

Comment

• Flint Eastwood
        Flint Eastwood commented
        Editing a comment
        I thought the same Hoss.
        Flint

Bueat of a find for your first now go plant something else and find another
      NW Georgia,

Comment

Nice point congrats on ur first one ...welcome...I'm going to a wake in monroe tiday
        SW Connecticut

Comment

Agree with Hoss, looks like an Adena. Nice point. Welcome.
          Rhode Island

Comment

Thank you for the warm welcome! Wow, so chuffed to find out that it’s real. Really thought it must have come from a museum gift shop or something with its condition, never just stumbled upon anything like this before. I emailed the new CT state archeologist too. First but hopefully not the last.

Comment

Welcome.
              I agree with it being an adena. The lithic looks like onondaga chert from NY. A really really nice find and probably more to come if you extend the garden and dig deeper. I live in shelton not too far from you.

Comment

Welcome from Michigan. Killer find!!!
                Uncle Trav- Southwest Michigan

Comment

Nice find! It looks water worn. Was your yard a creek at one time? Congrats, it looks real.
                  New Jersey

Comment

Originally posted by kayakaddict View Post
                    Nice find! It looks water worn. Was your yard a creek at one time? Congrats, it looks real.