X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Megafauna Tools from Paleo Site in Kentucky

Megafauna Tools: A Paleo Site in Kentucky
    Dan T. Harper, Nashville, Tennessee
    Originally published in the Central States Archaeological Journal, Vol.57, No.1, pg.42

A group of six chipped tools from the site. The author has uncovered hundreds of these at the site.
    I have been studying Paleo Man and his tool kit for the past fifteen years. My surface hunting has yielded many types of tools that most people just pass over. By studying many drawings and photos taken at published Paleo sites, I have educated myself on the types of tools utilized. Some of the tools I have found are problematic. I've enlisted the help of Archaeologist John Broster, who has spent the last twenty years studying Paleo man in the Southeast, to give me guidance in understanding my finds.
    My main site today is on the Red River near the Kentucky-Tennessee border. It is not far from the Phil Stratton Cumberland Site that Dr. Gramly has been working. This Red River site has yielded hundreds of tools, and leads me to believe that it was a place of manufacture for many years.
    On the site I have found not only what might be termed “common” tools, such as hammer stones, but also some very interesting large tools. These "megafauna" choppers and rippers required large game to be useful. Combined with large uniface blades, Paleo man would have been able to fully take advantage of the megafauna he was hunting.