Geophysics and Arrowheads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geophysics and Arrowheads

Has anyone used or have any thoughts on using geophysical equipment when hunting for arrowheads? I'm new to hunting but am looking to get serious and curious if any technology has been applied to hunting. Thanks for the site!!

Welcome to AH.com  :welcome:
    I have used a magnetometer and a metal detector. If that helps. neither device helped in locating rocks butt got me out into the fields to use my eyeballs.
    Look to the ground for it holds the past!

Comment

:welcome: from east TN!
      Are your referring to ground penetrating radar?  I've never heard of it used to find "arrowheads". Most people just do it the old fashion way and surface hunt artifacts that have eroded out or been exposed by farming equipment. 
      Others dig but,  there are legal and ethical issues involved with digging NA artifacts.
      Josh (Ky/Tn collector)

Comment

It gets a little problematic.  For the collector, geophysics such as electromagnetic conductivity (metal detectors) can locate contact sites or some older pre-contact sites with copper, but it is likely that digging them will disturb graves or true in situ artifacts thereby losing the information they have to offer.  Metal detectors can be useful in contact areas to find metal goods within the till zone though.  Ground penatrating radar can located grave sites, house sites, pathways, (anything with a marked contrast in compaction or density) however, again, by disturbing these areas, you lose the information they have to offer.  Like most things in life, there is no easy way.  Best way is to use education, archived data, topography, soil types, and knowledge of stream/river systems can all be helpful in locating suitable hunting grounds.

Comment