How to determine what's a preform?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to determine what's a preform?

I'm a newbie. I see many tools and whatnot that appear finished to me, but the seasoned veterans all jump in and say preform. What is so obvious about something that so many can agree it's a preform?

For me , its more than likely a preform if the
    piece was found at a known quarry site. Otherwise if found in a creek or habitation site, might be a tool.
    It would be too easy and quick just to apply notches to keep around a preform.

Comment

The terms “quarry blank” and “preform” tend to be used interchangeably these days to relate to unfinished artefacts and work-in-progress but – as originally defined in archaeology – there was an intended distinction between these two terms. They might both be found at a quarrying site but the distinction was made according to the degree of progress to the final artefact.

A quarry blank is essentially a simple roughed out form, produced in the interests of converting a piece of material into a more portable item that could be easily carried away and further worked upon elsewhere, or traded with other groups for them to work on. Caches are not uncommon. It usually has an irregular outline that approximates to an oval, teardrop or triangular shape, is frequently bifacial and might easily be mistaken for a crude knife, scraper, point or whatever. It may well have some thinning, but if very thin, that’s usually a function of the spall from which it was made being thin to begin with. It wouldn’t have been used as a tool and doesn’t necessarily have any strong clues for what type of artefact it was intended to become.