Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To be or not to be (Effigy or not) that is the question! I’m new and glad to be here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To be or not to be (Effigy or not) that is the question! I’m new and glad to be here!

Good evening everyone. I’m a new member from western PA. I have been hunting arrowheads for a couple years now and really started finally connecting this past summer. I am a helicopter pilot and my user name ah64 is from the Apache helicopter I flew in the military. I still fly helos. Below is my first course of business that I’d like to achieve on this site and that’s finding out if what I found in central Ohio, along two large rivers, in a cornfield along with paleo and archaic points, is an effigy or not. As I’m new to the forum and really getting into the addiction any opinions I’d most definitely appreciate it! Thank you!

If I may....it appears to me to be an appendage from a pot/bowl/water bottle of sorts, applied in the “appliqué” technique, which was made separately and stuck to the still wet pottery, as opposed to the technique of throwing it as a built in part of the pot. They are particularly prone to falling off and separating from the vessel.

I have seen several legs and heads and a few other appendages or forms of adornment that have become “unattached” in one way or another.
    i may be wrong on this, but the one side that is rather “plane” looks like the point of attachment/unattachment. Could have been a handle, leg, or any number of useful or decorative attachments....

*I am am no expert. Just a guy who has seen hundreds or maybe thousands of pieces of pottery.

Awesome find, by the way....and welcome to the site.
    Wandering wherever I can, mostly in Eastern Arkansas, always looking down.

Comment

Welcome from east Tn!

So you caught the bug?! Well your in the right place!