Joining in from Florida

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joining in from Florida

Hello to the group! My name is Susan, and my family and I live on the Central West Coast of Florida. We have just inherited a massive collection of arrowheads and other artifacts,so I'm joining your forum to try to learn what we have and how to care for them. There are probably over 1,000 items. About half of them are taking up my dining room table at the moment because they were piled in cigar boxes, and I hated seeing that! We know very little, but feel responsible for the care of it all. As far as we can tell, most were found in our area, some are marked, others look like fossils, and the rest are a mystery! So thank you for your help in advance, we look forward to learning a lot from you!
    Central West Coast of Florida, total noob!

Hello, from SE Missouri! Welcome to arrowheads.com, Susan! We look forward to seeing your artifacts and assisting you with the identification of them.
    Stagger Lee/ SE Missouri

Comment

Welcome from NE Kentucky! Post pictures of your collection soon. I like flipping through ID books trying to help.
      "The education of a man is never completed until he dies." Robert E. Lee

Comment

Thank you! Here are a few photos of our current situation, lol. Any suggestions for storage as we go through them? I don't want to put them back in the cigar boxes. I've already found resources on sorting them by shape, but if there are any links to help in handling this chaos, they'd certainly be appreciated!
        Central West Coast of Florida, total noob!

Comment

• Kentucky point
          Kentucky point commented
          Editing a comment
          Wow! That is a lot! I see one or two Cacacto creeks, and a few others that I recognize. As for storing them, You should probably get a fishing tackle box and put tissue paper in the tray. Then put your points inside. As for the white rock... I have no clue.