Hello from South Central PA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from South Central PA

I have been collecting by purchase on and off for 17 years. I am always careful to buy from people who authenticate others' collections. I started 30 years ago when I found an obsidian point on the shore at Calvert Cliffs in MD. I have read and studied Native culture all of my life. I used to collect baskets, pottery and other art of Native American and Canadian tribes. It holds a fascination I am sure folks here can relate to. My big dream is to actually find a point myself again. I live in what used to be Amish farmland, 30 years ago. We have 1.5 acres. I am 3 miles from a main creek. Since we moved here 17 years ago, all I have wanted to do is dig up my whole property looking for arrowheads! We do a lot of planting and I have never come across one. I have studied from the local historical society and know many tribes were here 300 -400 years ago. I cannot find a farmer or landowner who will let me check creeks on their property or even walk fields. The folks around here are very suspicious and protective. So. What do you think? Can I dig up my land and eventually find anything? I thought to check the runoff ditches because when it rains it floods fast and wide. It runs from the farmer's fields to my property. The field backs to the creek. It is all downhill, too. What do you think?

If you don't find any flakes and pottery shards on surface it most likely will not be productive to dig. Not saying you won't find anything but it is likely you won't unless people have picked all surface stuff up in past.
    South East Ga. Twin City

Comment

Welcome! Do you live near Schuylkill county? Adams County?