Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another Newbie here.... Looking to Learn.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Newbie here.... Looking to Learn.

Hello all.

I grew up fascinated with Indian culture and life, having lived in Minnesota, Wisconsin and South Dakota in my younger years. I always have been interested in artifacts from earlier times. I currently live an hour west of New York, NY and have property in the Cumberland Mountains of TN. In the future, my personal finds will likely come from one of those two places.

As for now, I recently had a chance to purchase some artifacts from the estate of a lifelong collector in central Connecticut. Since it was an estate sale, there was no opportunity to discuss the history with him so there is no provenance for these finds. I felt somewhat safe buying from his estate, assuming that was far more likely than me to recognize real finds vs. fakes. But again, I don't know what I don't know.... I'm looking to jump start my collections and want to make sure I approach this passion with knowledge.

Looking for initial help on a four related topics:
    1) What do you look for in order to identify real vs. fake with high confidence, when acquiring artifacts from others?
    2) A collective take, based on a review of some photos of rom my purchase of real vs. fake; and if real - thoughts about whether they came from the Northeast or were likely purchased from all over?
    3) How do you distinguish a large arrowhead from another tool? Based on the first photo - are any of these artifacts likely to be tools other than arrowheads?
    4) Outside of this forum, what other resources would you recommend to build knowledge around early-American artifacts?

Thanks in advance ! .I'm looking forward to learning and later contributing.

Click image for larger version

Name:	70-FullBox.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	502502 Click image for larger version

Name:	70-A1.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	86.4 KB