Hello from Indiana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Indiana

Hey folks. I’ve been browsing your forum for a few years as a learning resource and have always wanted to join. I’m hoping to learn more and to maybe contribute myself.

I inherited rock hounding from my grandpa, like ya’ do, and it was a part of every fishing trip here in south central Indiana, but I’d never had any experience with lithics aside from a point he had given me that I still have today. A wonky, crudely made little point (which I can’t identify for certain) that I treasure like no other. Needless to say – it changed me. But there was never the time or means to explore it.

Then a few years ago I found myself with (almost literally) nothing but time. I was out walking just wondering what it all means, like ya’ do, when something out of place caught my eye. Before my hand could even touch it, that feeling I’d had as a boy holding that arrowhead was welling up around me. This... kind of fear, in many ways. A memento mori I’d not yet been desensitized to; whispering from thousands of years away that I am doomed. That I am a fool and will never get back all the time I waste. You know...exhilarating. I didn’t know exactly what it was. I just knew it had a pulse. Everyone told me that it was a rock. But an archaeologist told me that it was an adze. Then everyone else said it was still just a damn rock. So they were cool with me picking them up. And I did.