Please welcome Kyflintguy MOTM of February

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please welcome Kyflintguy MOTM of February

One thing we look for is members that show us their Knowledge. And the dedication to the site.  Some may be seasoned members, others are fairly new. The Elders of this site recognize that. We always want to be challenged.
    Please welcome Kyflintguy (Josh) AND ONE OF OUR NEW MENTORS, AS MEMBER OF THE MONTH OF FEBRUARY.
        I was born in rural southeast Kentucky.  My father was a carpenter by trade. His father was a coal miner and my mother's father was a coal miner, and their father's before them...
           My childhood was at times turbulent, but my mother was a solid anchor in my life. She was a devout Christian, so I spent many years on a church pew. I had a very simplistic yet happy childhood.  A large portion of which was spent without a T.V, therefore I read lots of books.  Anything I could get my hands on, but my favorite was my mom's American history textbook.  I always enjoyed trying to understand what life was like for people in the past.
         As a child growing up in the mountains of eastern Ky, I spent a lot of time roaming and exploring the woods.  Always wondering what was over the next hill, this often led to "tail dustings" as I didn't ever want to go home (when I was supposed to). My grandparents contributed to my enthusiasm for the outdoors.  They taught me the things they knew about living off the land.
         The transition to having a fascination with Native Americans came natural to me.
    My dad's father has a pretty decent size collection, and every time I visited he would give me an arrowhead. I would play with them and along the way surely lost a few...