Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have I Been Duped On Ebay?

Hey guys,

So I think I bought a phony celt. It had a shiny polished look to it until I took a toothbrush to it with a tiny bit of soapy water. I could see the soap took on a very light brown color as I washed it. The shine is gone now, did I wash off a fake patina? Here's a pic before and after cleaning. Please let me know if I should be asking for my money back.

Here is the original listing if anyone is curious.

Comment

I do not see any red flags. Some collectors put stuff on artifacts to make them shine. Some may just shine from being handled. Oils from the hands can transfer to the stone. Taz has over 11,000 sales and none are negative. I think you did good on that one.
      TN formerly CT Visit our store http://stores.arrowheads.com/store.p...m-Trading-Post

Comment

Phew, glad to hear it, thanks Hoss.

Comment

Im not sure if you washed off a fake patina or a real patina? Im not an expert on hardstone, maybe Paul or someone else will have a better idea on authenticity of your item. I can say i have bought several things off of that seller and have never had an issue with anything being "bad". Im pretty sure that many real artifacts gather a shine or patina from being handled and the oils on collectors hands rub off on them. Maybe its just that (oils from collectors hands) that you washed off? I have heard of cleaning polished artifacts and it removing the natural patina which in turn decreased desirability. In what case may prove troublesome if you tried to return the item? Maybe, maybe not, i don't know? Good news is it wasnt that expensive...
          Josh (Ky/Tn collector)

Comment

Looks good to me too.
            South Dakota

Comment