Opinions on this piece please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on this piece please?

I found this on a site in Colorado, Park County. Any thoughts about what it is or material used, etc? Open to all comments...I might add that it has a tan color swirled in the black but it's really hard to photograph.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by mtnsolitude; 03-09-2020, 04:05 PM.

Looks like obsidian and Id call it a graver, but Im no expert. It s worked pretty interestingly

Comment

• mtnsolitude
      mtnsolitude commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you

I'm no expert on obsidian but it looks like it to me. Also, appears to be green obsidian, not sure if it's the same type that was coveted by the South American people. Hopefully someone with more knowledge will hop on here and give you more info.
    Central Ohio

Comment

It’s obsidian and some type of tool but that is a guess could be another artifacts other then scrapper / graver

Comment

Pretty stuff looks like a blade or scraper
        NW Georgia,

Comment

Wondering if this material is common to my area?

Comment

It most likely came from a quarry In Yellowstone National Park. I believe that’s the closest source to you.
            South Dakota

Comment

• mtnsolitude
              mtnsolitude commented
              Editing a comment
              Thank you

Sweet find, surprised you haven't found more Obsidian yet since you are relatively close to the source.
            For typing get yourself an Overstreet book for arrowhead id.
            This site isn't 100% reliable but it comes in handy for quick reference:
            Searching the fields of NW Indiana and SW Michigan

Comment

• mtnsolitude
              mtnsolitude commented
              Editing a comment
              Thank you for the resource