Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deep red translucent arrowheads. Can someone help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deep red translucent arrowheads. Can someone help?

Hello all - this is my first post so I hope it is in the correct place.
    I have two very old deep red arrowheads. As I have zero knowledge of this subject I am hoping someone here can help me indentify them.
    They were part of a substantial collection of pottery, kachinas, baskets and textiles that my mother donated to the Maxwell museum in New Mexico, but they were not included in the inventory. My mother stated that they came from New Mexico. They had been in her collection since the early 1920s and she commented that they were quite old when she got them. I cannot find any reference to these arrowheads on the internet. Two southwest relic collectors have looked at pics and are quite puzzled.
    They are translucent, very deep red and carved, as they put it, "the old way" using stone tools. I will try to attach 2 jpg. photos of them.
    I would greatly appreciate any information anyone may have or referrals as I would like to sell them as well as understand what they are.
    Thank you

Hello; You came to the right place. If these guys can't figure those out no one will. I am familar with Columbia river artifacts and not with those from New Mexico. If I were to throw out a guess I would say red glass. They have the look of glass and the style sure could have been from the trade goods era. I am quite sure you will get the answer from the members on this forum. And thanks for posting your question that makes this place a lot of fun. Good luck from Washington state.

Comment

Hi - thank you for your reply. I read a single post on a railroad collectibles site that when the railroad first crossed through the west, Indians used lantern glass to make arrowheads...but the post also stated that was only a theory. It seems that no one had an actual sample of one.