It's tough stuff out there

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's tough stuff out there

This has got to be one of the most dissapointing weekends I have experienced for many years.
    Not only did I not find anything worth a s#!t at the end of my metal detector but I wasted a lot of time trying to find some fossils.
    I had given up on the metal detecting and decicded to hit some of my favorite local fossil spots.
    I got down to the spot and immediately started to find footprints. I scannned the aluvial stuff nothing. I went to the stratafied material nothing. I started down creek when a young man came down the hill from the bridge. He was nice enough and we introduced ouselves. Come to find out he and one other had been there the day before.
    That did not stop me from going to two other places only to find more footprints and no fossils.
    Being that I have been hunting this area for over 40 years I feel these Johnny come latelys are invading the local areas and raping the sites. Considering both of the fellas that hit these areas are from out of town and out of state, yes I said site rape.
    I just may keep to digging arrowheads but even that has it's finite end.
    Bone2stone (Jessy)
    It is a "Rock" when it's on the ground.
    It is a "Specimen" when picked up and taken home.

​Jessy B.
    Circa:1982

Bummer, I know the feeling. At least those foot prints didn't lead you to a game warden or big foot! Maybe those guys will be gone soon enough. And with a good rain you can start finding the good stuff again. I get touchy about my spot and strangers too.

Comment

I definitely feel your pain.
      Professor Shellman
      Tampa Bay

Comment

I, too, know what you mean. We have to hunt in nasty winter weather because if you wait till warm weather, you almost need reservations to get on a place. I find in a year now what I used to find in a good week years ago.
        Like a drifter I was born to walk alone

Comment