odd fossil...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• odd fossil...

Got out for a little creek walking today and got skunked on the artifacts but I did find this rather peculiar fossil...Personally I've never found anything like it. Normally when I find a fossil this large it is a part of a larger rock. In the first picture you can actually see the tiny nodules/spines that are laid out across the shell in a grid like pattern. Any fossil experts know what this is?

I am no expert but from what I have learned on AH.com it is some type of brachiopod. I am sure Roger or Jesse will let you know what kind of brachiopod. Cool find man. thanks for sharing
    TN formerly CT Visit our store http://stores.arrowheads.com/store.p...m-Trading-Post

Comment

I believe it's a bi-valve : Liosotella. There are several types so I could be wrong...but according to the field guide, this one fits the description best.
      That's a pretty nice one...still has the actual shell instead of a cast or impression.

Comment

Hoss is correct in that it is a brachiopod, Rokhead on the nose.
        It is washing out of a Permian deposit somewhere.
        They are also found in Devonian deposits,also in the Pennsylvanian and Missipian deposits in Ok. and elsewhere.
        Usually not in this good of condition.
        Alaska produces some of the best well preserved in the world.
        Some in the, Pecos region Permian deposits, Glass Mountain range
        can be found still in the matrix.
        Using an acid etch they can be extracted and the spines will stand out like spikes!
        Pretty nice find dude.
        Jessy (Bone2stone)
        It is a "Rock" when it's on the ground.
        It is a "Specimen" when picked up and taken home.

​Jessy B.
        Circa:1982

Comment