Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you help me identify this pottery shard? Good chance it's not Native American. Found in Atlanta, GA.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you help me identify this pottery shard? Good chance it's not Native American. Found in Atlanta, GA.

Hey hey, this is my first time posting here.

Yesterday, in Atlanta, GA (Fulton/Dekalb County) I found a pottery shard in a creek in an area that is known for Native American artifacts.
    This piece does not seem like ancient Native American but maybe something more modern or European?

I've included a penny to help estimate the overall size. Different picture angles of the same piece are above.
    I've searched online and Google Lens but not found a solid match.

Anyway, I would be curious to see what yall think!
    Thanks in advance!​

Tam is north Georgia Pottery Queen. She will know and undoubtedly help you when she sees post.
    Digging in GA, ‘bout a mile from the Savannah River

Comment

Actually in South Georgia some months . I would wait for others to weigh in here but ; All modern pottery from the late 1800’s early 1900’s I find are that are not Native American are all glazed . Or they are porcelain .
      With that being said this could be NA just from that the sandy looking composition , and the simple design .

It’s so easy for me because all of mine are stamped Swiftcreek . There is a look and feel I know now .even if it’s not stamped .
      Your piece has that look in composition .

Comment

• Cecilia
        Cecilia commented
        Editing a comment
        Dang, Tam, in my mind been seeing you green lil mountains North Georgia! Wow, unless you on/near coast, South Georgia kinda flat, sandy, scrub-oaky …..No wonder you hunt with gun sometimes…..😉

Just went down a rabbit hole looking at salt glazed pottery very old from European settlers . Nothing with that simple design . The creek worked that pieces down .