Anyone need an Omar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone need an Omar

Hi all i live in a small community on the Belcher island chain in Hudson bay Canada the place were Omars come from . i cant take a step without seeing one so if your looking let me know

Wilbo, interesting introduction! Welcome from Indiana.
    Post some nice pics of a few for some of our newbie friends who can get confused from time to time.
    And if you have any artifacts to share with us please posts pics of those too.
    Searching the fields of NW Indiana and SW Michigan

Comment

welcome to AH.com

would love to see some pics of your finds

Comment

Welcome to AH.com
        whats a Omar
        Look to the ground for it holds the past!

Comment

a few pics

Comment

cool point
          any idea what the lithic material is and where it comes from

Comment

• willbo
            willbo commented
            Editing a comment
            i think its flint but im no expert its very sharp great cutting edge . it can be found on island

The material on that point is a smokey chalcedony. A type of lithic that is found almost every where. Sometimes by itself, and sometimes associated with another form of chert or flint in the same piece. An interesting fact, chalcedony is a type of lithic that will show a lot of hanging flakes, but that you really don't want to see on an authentic point. BUT, at the hinge fracture on these flakes, there should be visible yellowed oxidation.
          Last edited by pkfrey; 06-12-2016, 09:44 AM.
          http://www.ravensrelics.com/

Comment

P.S. If you find a lot of that on the island, either in finished artifacts, or unworked natural blocks of it, there may be a quarry source, which you should look for.

Comment

this is a random stone picked up by my GF you can see the center material is the same as the point so im guessing there is a source on the island

Comment

• Hoss
                Hoss commented