Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Request for Insight into Arrowheads Purchased at an Estate Sale (NJ)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Request for Insight into Arrowheads Purchased at an Estate Sale (NJ)

Hi,
    I’m curious if anyone has any thoughts as to whether or not the following arrowheads look like they have any potential for being authentic. I bought all 4 from an estate sale. The company, running the estate sale, was unable to provide any associated historical information.

I’ve spent some hours looking through http://typology.arrowheads.com/index.php, visiting each and every page, in an effort to do my due diligence. I have no experience with arrowheads, but I am so down to start a premise with these.

Here’s a quick group shot of the 4 (placed on an index card 3x5in), along with my guestimated style(?) and type/classification(?):
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6713.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	174.8 KB
ID:	571609
    Below I’ve taken individual shots, including precise measurements, using a digital caliper, along with weights, for your convenience:

Name:	ID 1.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	117.2 KB
ID:	571610

Name:	ID 2.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	571612

Name:	ID 3.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	114.6 KB
ID:	571613

Name:	ID 4.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	127.8 KB
ID:	571611

It’s tough to not simply conclude these came from pretty much any gift shop across America, haha.
    However, there were far older and more valuable items being sold at this same estate sale.

I’m basically reaching out for anyone who might be able to weigh in and toss in a thought or two.

Thanks in advance, you guys ROCK!

They look good to me (as of being ancient authentic) going by the pictures.
    🐜 🎤 SW Georgia

Comment